Shadow Party Members

Shadow Party Members


The “Shadow Party” is a term originally devised by journalists to describe “Section 527” Political Committees promoting Democratic Party agendas. Here, it is used more specifically to refer to the network of non-profit activist groups established in the early 2000s by George Soros and others to mobilize resources — money, get-out-the-vote drives, campaign advertising, and policy initiatives — to elect Democratic candidates and guide the Democratic Party ever-further towards the left. The Internet fundraising operation was a key component. The Shadow Party in this sense was conceived and organized principally by Soros, Hillary Clinton and Harold Ickes. Its efforts were amplified by, and coordinated with, key government unions and the activist groups associated with the community organization ACORN. The key organizers of these groups were veterans of the Sixties left. The individuals and organizations listed on this page are some of the major players in the Shadow Party. For a comprehensive discussion of the Shadow Party, its constituent members, and its agendas and activities, click here.


21st Century Democrats
Air America Radio
America Coming Together
America Votes
American Association for Justice
American Constitution Society for Law and Policy
American Federation of Labor – Congress of Industrial Organizations
American Federation of State, County, and Municipal Employees
American Federation of Teachers
Association of Community Organizations for Reform Now
Brennan Center for Justice
Campaign for America’s Future
Campus Progress
Center for American Progress
Center for Progressive Leadership
Change America Now
Citizens for Responsibility and Ethics in Washington
Constitution Project
Defenders of Wildlife
Democracy 21
Democracy Alliance
Democracy For America
EMILY’s List
Human Rights Campaign
Institute for Policy Studies
Joint Victory Campaign 2004
League of Conservation Voters
Media Fund
Meyer, Suozzi, English and Klein, PC
Midwest Academy
Moving Ideas Network
NARAL Pro-Choice America
National Association for the Advancement of Colored People
National Education Association
New Organizing Institute
Open Society Foundations
People for the American Way
Planned Parenthood Federation of America
Project Vote
Schumann Center for Media and Democracy
Secretary of State Project
Service Employees International Union
Shadow Party
Sierra Club
Think Progress
Thunder Road Group
Tides Foundation and Tides Center
Vote For Change
Working Families Party


Alterman, Eric
Bing, Stephen
Booth, Heather
Borosage, Robert
Brock, David
Clinton, Hillary Rodham
Exley, Zack
Fonda, Jane
Furman, Gail
Glantz, Gina
Glaser, Robert
Halperin, Morton
Ickes, Harold
Kest, Steven
Lewis, Peter
Malcolm, Ellen
McAuliffe, Terry
McKay Jr., Robert
Onek, Joseph
Podesta, John
Pope, Carl
Rathke, Wade
Richards, Cecile
Rosenberg, Simon
Rosenthal, Steven
Sandler, Herb and Marion
Soros, George
Stern, Andrew
Trumka, Richard
Villaraigosa, Antonio
Weiss, Cora
Wiley, George Alvin

© Copyright 2024,