Key Obama Administration Appointees

Key Obama Administration Appointees


Major Appointments by President Barack Obama and Members of His Administration:

  • Adegbile, Debo: Attorney General for Civil Rights (not confirmed by the Senate)
  • Alikhan, Arif: Assistant Secretary for the Office of Policy Development
  • Becker, Craig: National Labor Relations Board
  • Berwick, Donald: Administrator of the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services
  • Biden, Joseph: Vice President
  • Bloom, Ron: Senior Counselor to the President for Manufacturing Policy
  • Brennan, John: Deputy National Security Advisor for Counterterrorism; CIA Director
  • Brooks, Rosa: Undersecretary for Defense Policy
  • Browner, Carol: Assistant to the President for Energy and Climate Change
  • Burger, Anna: Economic Recovery Advisory Board
  • Burwell, Sylvia Mathews: Director of the Office of Management and Budget; Secretary of Health and Human Services
  • Chu, Steven: Secretary of Energy
  • Clinton, Hillary: Secretary of State
  • Cole, James: Deputy Attorney General
  • Cutter, Stephanie: Assistant to the President for Special Projects; Deputy Senior Advisor
  • Dunn, Anita: White House Communications Director (Resigned, November 2009)
  • Emanuel, Rahm: Chief of Staff
  • Freeman, Charles: Chair of the National Intelligence Council (Freeman withdrew from consideration in March 2009.)
  • Gaspard, Patrick: Director of the Office of Political Affairs
  • Geithner, Timothy: Secretary of the Treasury
  • Gerard, Leo: Member of the President’s Advisory Committee on Trade Policy and Negotiations
  • Gordon, Philip: Assistant Secretary of State for European and Eurasian Affairs; Special Assistant to the President; White House Coordinator for the Middle East, North Africa, and the Gulf Region
  • Hagel, Chuck: Co-Chair of President Obama’s Intelligence Advisory Board; Secretary of Defense
  • Hamilton, David: Seventh Circuit Court of Appeals Judge
  • Holder, Eric: Attorney General
  • Holdren, John: Assistant to the President for Science and Technology
  • Hurwitz, Andrew: U.S. Court of Appeals Judge (Ninth Circuit)
  • Jennings, Kevin: Assistant Deputy Secretary of Education in charge of the Office of Safe and Drug-Free Schools
  • Johnsen, Dawn: Assistant Attorney General to the Office of Legal Counsel
  • Jones, Van: Special Advisor for Green Jobs, Enterprise and Innovation
  • Kagan, Elena: Solicitor General; Supreme Court Justice
  • King, Bob: Member of Advisory Committee for Trade Policy and Negotiations
  • Klain, Ronald: Ebola Response Coordinator (a.k.a. “Ebola Czar”)
  • Koh, Harold: Legal Advisor to the U.S. State Department
  • Lloyd, Mark: Diversity Chief of the Federal Communications Commission
  • Lynch, Loretta: U.S. Attorney; Attorney General
  • McDonough, Denis: Chief of Staff
  • Medina, Eliseo: National Latino Advisory Council
  • Millett, Patricia: U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia
  • Mogahed, Dalia: Advisory Council on Faith-Based and Neighborhood Partnerships
  • Munoz, Cecilia: Director of Intergovernmental Affairs; Director of the Domestic Policy Council
  • Napolitano, Janet: Secretary of Homeland Security
  • Perez, Thomas: Assistant Attorney General for the Justice Department’s Civil Rights Division
  • Pillard, Cornelia: U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia
  • Posner, Michael: Assistant Secretary of State for Democracy, Human Rights and Labor
  • Power, Samantha: Director for Multilateral Affairs, National Security Council
  • Pritzker, Penny: Member of President’s Economic Recovery Advisory Board, and President’s Council for Jobs and Competitiveness
  • Rice, Susan: Ambassador to the United Nations
  • Richardson, Bill: Secretary of Commerce (Richardson withdrew from consideration in January 2009.)
  • Rosenthal, Hannah: Head of the Office to Monitor and Combat Anti-Semitism
  • Salazar, Ken: Secretary of the Interior
  • Sebelius, Kathleen: Secretary of Health and Human Services
  • Shora, Kareem: Member of Homeland Security Advisory Council
  • Shora, Nawar: Senior Advisor in the Department of Homeland Security
  • Solis, Hilda: Secretary of Labor
  • Sotomayor, Sonia: Supreme Court Justice
  • Sunstein, Cass: Administrator of the White House Office of Information and Regulatory Affairs
  • Sutley, Nancy: White House Council on Environmental Quality
  • Tauscher, Ellen: Undersecretary of State for Arms Control and International Security
  • Trumka, Richard: Member of President Obama’s Economic Recovery Advisory Board
  • Warren, Elizabeth: Special Assistant in charge of organizing and establishing a new Consumer Financial Protection Bureau
  • West, Tony: Assistant Attorney General for the Justice Department’s Civil Division
  • Wilkins, Robert: U.S. Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia
  • Zoi, Cathy: Assistant Secretary for Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy

Additional Resources:

Ship of Fools: Obama’s Intimates and Advisors
By Mac Fuller
October 11, 2009

© Copyright 2024,