House Votes to Censure Tlaib For Supporting Genocide of Israel

House Votes to Censure Tlaib For Supporting Genocide of Israel

November 8, 2023

Rep. Rashida Tlaib (D-MI) was censured by the House of Representatives on Tuesday for her call for genocide against the state of Israel.

In a 234-188 vote, 22 Democrats joined 212 Republicans in voting for the censure while four Republicans voted against it. A total of four members voted present while six did not vote.

The resolution to censure Tlaib slammed her for “promoting false narratives regarding the October 7, 2023, Hamas attack on Israel and for calling for the destruction of the state of Israel.”

The resolution correctly noted that Israel has existed on its lands for thousands of years and that the U.S. played a “critical role in returning Israel to those lands in 1948 immediately following the Holocaust in recognition of its right to exist and as an indelible signal of our solidarity with the Jewish people.”

Tlaib “defended the brutal rapes, murders, be-headings, and kidnapping—including of Americans—by Hamas as justified ‘resistance’ to the ‘apartheid state,’” the resolution said, adding that she “knowingly spread the false narrative that Israel intentionally bombed the Al-Ahli Arab Hospital on October 17 after United States intelligence, Israeli intelligence, and President Biden assessed with high confidence that Israel did not cause the explosion.”

The resolution continued:

Whereas, on November 3, 2023, Representative Tlaib published on social media a video containing the phrase “from the river to the sea,” which is widely recognized as a genocidal call to violence to destroy the state of Israel and its people to replace it with a Palestinian state extending from the Jordan River to the Mediterranean Sea;

Whereas Representative Tlaib doubled down on this call to violence by falsely describing “from the river to the sea” as “an aspirational call for freedom, human rights, and peaceful coexistence” despite it clearly entailing Israel’s destruction and denial of its fundamental right to exist; and

Whereas Representative Tlaib has repeatedly displayed conduct entirely unbecoming of a Member of the House of Representatives by calling for the destruction of the state of Israel and dangerously promoting false narratives regarding a brutal, large-scale terrorist attack against civilian targets inside the sovereign territory of a major non-NATO ally while hundreds of Israeli and American hostages remain in terrorist captivity: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That Representative Rashida Tlaib be censured.

The Democrats who voted to censure Tlaib include Reps. Steve Cohen (TN), Jim Costa (CA), Angie Craig (MN), Don Davis (NC), Lois Frankel (FL), Jared Golden (ME), Daniel Goldman (NY), Josh Gottheimer (NJ), Greg Landsman (OH), Susie Lee (NV), Kathy Manning (NC), Jared Moskowitz (FL), Wiley Nickel (NC), Chris Pappas (NH), Marie Perez (WA), Pat Ryan (NY), Brad Schneider (IL), Kim Schrier (WA), Darren Soto (FL), Richie Torres (NY), Debbie Wasserman Schultz (FL), and Frederica Wilson (FL).

The Republicans who voted against the censure included Reps. Ken Buck (CO), John Duarte (CA), Thomas Massie (KY), and Tom McClintock (CA).

© Copyright 2024,