20+ Republicans Join Dems to Kill Censure Resolution Against Tlaib

20+ Republicans Join Dems to Kill Censure Resolution Against Tlaib

November 2, 2023

Fox News reports that the House of Representatives voted Wednesday to kill a resolution to censure Muslim antisemite Rep. Rashida Tlaib (D-MN).

Nearly two dozen Republicans voted along with all House Democrats to table the resolution in a final vote of 222-186 in favor of killing the motion without debate.

Tlaib had been the target of a censure introduced by Rep. Marjorie Taylor Greene (R-GA) over Tlaib’s comments and actions related to the ongoing war between Israel and Hamas.

Greene had blamed Tlaib for a protest last month that saw hundreds of Gaza cease-fire demonstrators arrested after they took over the Cannon House Office building. Greene repeatedly referred to the protest as an “insurrection” in the text of her resolution.

After the vote, Greene railed against the 23 Republicans who opted to table her resolution, calling them “feckless.”

“This is why Republicans NEVER do anything to stop the communists Democrats or ever hold anyone accountable!!” Greene wrote on X, formerly Twitter.

A wide array of members from the GOP Conference voted to table the resolution, including House Freedom Caucus Policy Chairman Chip Roy (R-TX).

“Rep. Rashida Tlaib has repeatedly made outrageous remarks toward Israel and the Jewish people. Her conduct is unbecoming of a member of Congress and certainly worthy of condemnation – if not censure,” Roy said. “However, tonight’s feckless resolution to censure Tlaib was deeply flawed and made legally and factually unverified claims, including the claim of leading an ‘insurrection’…I voted to table the resolution. In January 2021, the legal term insurrection was stretched and abused by many following the events at the Capitol. We should not continue to perpetuate claims of ‘insurrection’ at the Capitol and we should not abuse the term now.”

Greene was right to censure Tlaib and right about the GOP being feckless.

© Copyright 2024, DiscoverTheNetworks.org