Additional Information on Bettina Aptheker

Over the course of her professional career, Aptheker has authored and co-authored the following books:

  • Intimate Politics: How I Grew Up Red, Fought for Free Speech, and Became a Feminist Rebel (2006)
  • African American Women and the Vote, 1837-1965 (1997) [with Cynthia Neverdon-Morton, Evelyn Brooks Higginbotham, Martha Prescod Norman]
  • Tapestries of Life: Women’s Work, Women’s Consciousness and the Meaning of Daily Life (1989)
  • Woman’s legacy: Essays on Race, Sex, and Class in American History (1982)
  • Unfolding Drama (1979) [with Herbert Aptheker]
  • The Morning Breaks: The Trial of Angela Davis (1975)
  • The Academic Rebellion in the United States (1972)
  • Higher Education and the Student Rebellion in the United States, 1960-1969: A Bibliography (1972)
  • Racism and Reaction in the United States: Two Marxian Studies (1971) [with Herbert Aptheker]
  • Big Business and the American University (1966)
  • FSM: The Free Speech Movement at Berkeley (1965)


© Copyright 2023,